Did you know 15-year-olds can ride mopeds legally in Minnesota? They can, after they’ve taken our three-hour Moped Safety Course and passed Minnesota’s knowledge and skills tests. Minnesota law defines a moped as a two-wheeled vehicle with engine displacement of not more than 50 cc, less than 2 hp, and capable of no more than 30 mph. Our classroom-only course is a great introduction to riding and is currently sponsored by our friends at Starr Cycle in North Mankato. This three-hour course is required for anyone 15 years of age or older who doesn’t have a driver’s license and wants to legally ride a moped on the street. You have to be at least 14 years old to take the course, but you’ll have to wait until you’re 15 to get your permit. After completing our Moped Safety Course, you can earn your moped permit by passing the knowledge test and skill test at a state exam station. Call, text, or email Brent at 507-630-0551 to ask about anything related to moped courses. Our Moped Safety Course costs $50.00.
BONUS: Starr Cycle will refund your $50 classroom fee with any new moped purchase! Online classes are not eligible for this refund.
Moped classes will be held on the following dates:
- Saturday, March 27th, 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 noon, ONLINE
- Saturday, April 24th, 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 noon, ONLINE
- Thursday, May 13th, 4:00 p.m. – 7:00 p.m., ONLINE
- Thursday, June 17th, 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 noon, ONLINE – FULL
- Thursday, July 29th, 9:00 a.m. – 12:00 noon, ONLINE
- August TBD
Register Now! to save your spot. We’ll accept last-minute registrations if space is available, but these classes will fill quickly!
Here is a review of the steps to getting your Moped Instruction Permit:
- First, successfully complete our Moped Safety Course and earn a state-required course completion card.
- Next, you need to pass a knowledge test at the Examiner’s Station and pay $6.75 to get a Moped Instruction Permit. Bring your course completion card with you. Your parent/guardian NEEDS to sign an affidavit – bring them along or get it before you test. Make an appointment for the skills test at that time, if you want.
- You are now able to ride within a 1 mile radius of your home. Only your parent/guardian can ride with you as a passenger on this instruction permit.
- Within 30 days, you need to pass a skills test on your own moped. Bring your instruction permit, proof of insurance, DOT-approved helmet, and eye protection.
- Finally, you need to apply for a Moped Operator’s Permit and pay $9.75, which is valid for one year. This permit can be renewed after one year.
- Mopeds must be registered annually and have insurance.
- Once you have your driver’s license, you no longer need to renew the Moped Operator’s Permit.